Faith

Asking God for “the little things”

Yesterday before soccer practice, Delaney (my 8-year-old) and I drove through Chick-Fil-A. I couldn’t find my credit card in my car and I had already ordered, so I started to panic. Thankfully I found it just it in time to pay. As we were driving away with our dinner, Delaney said, “Mama I know how you found you card.” I asked, “How?” She said, “God saw you and He helped you, because you love Him and He loves you.”

Later that night (after cleaning out my car), I came across a video of Mayim Bialik, where in talking about her faith, she said “I don’t believe God can grant you a parking space if you pray hard enough.”

I remembered that afternoon in my car and thought, “I do”.

I also remembered a few weeks ago, when Kaden (my 2-year-old) lost one of his favorite stuffed animals – a little caterpillar we call “Bug”. He would ask for “Bug”, and we would look for him, and this went on for several days. I remember praying – asking God to help us find it, and thankfully, we did. God heard me.

Not being able to find a parking spot is like not being able to find a credit card in the drive-thru, or not being able to find one of your favorite stuffed animals. Total #firstworldproblem. Tiny and seemingly insignificant when you look at “the big picture”.

Would I have figured out another way to feed my daughter dinner last night? Of course. Does my son have other stuffed animals? Several.

But God is our Father.

When my son asked me for his “Bug”, I didn’t say, “Well that’s a pretty small problem there, bud. I’m going to need you to give me a bigger challenge.” I helped him look. I was sad because he was sad, and when we found “Bug”, I was glad because he was glad – because I care about him.

Sometimes, when we go to HEB, I let my kids get “Buddy Bucks”. Before Delaney puts her paper money into the machine, I see her say a little prayer – asking God for the spinner to land on “instant winner”. I laugh a little because – it’s another #firstworldproblem for sure. But I love that she feels like she can ask God for anything.

Now is the answer always yes? Of course not. But I want my kids to feel completely comfortable asking both their worldly parents – and their Heavenly Father – for anything.

I know I do. Heck, some days I pray for Him to just help me get out of bed in the morning.

Genesis 16 says the Lord is El Roi, the God who sees me. Psalm 17 says He is El Shama, the God who hears me. 1 Peter 5 says, He cares for you. And Philippians 4 doesn’t say to just pray about big things, it says to pray about everything.

So I say? Keep asking God for “the little things.”

xoxo,

J+B

Leave a Reply

